jump to navigation

Being an ass versus Constructive criticism – Time for Battle. May 9, 2012

Posted by KKAJI in All about me.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

“Art is parasitic on life, just as criticism is parasitic on art.” – Harry S. Truman

I had a little, ahem, fun experience this morning. I woke up and went to check out my messages on email, art sites, the dreaded Facebook, etc., and was delighted to see that I had a new comment on one of my art sites! Only to find… that it wasn’t a comment so much as a complete and utter backhand slap to my ego.

I had recently entered a writing contest that required you write less than 500 words, which is (I am willing to admit) not my forte. I’m certainly more of a novel, type of girl. My “short stories” are all at least 50 pages. At least. I’m working on it, all right?

But I decided, hell, I’ll give it a shot!

But the feedback I received was detrimental to my mental, emotional, hell, even physical health (because I choked on my drink when I saw it). My pride was crushed. And I have a lot of pride (I’m a Leo after all). The commenter, a judge on the competition who had spoken with me once before saying that a 500 story weeded out the good writers from the crap ones [I’m probably paraphrasing a little heavily there, but that’s what I got from it], asked if English was my second language because “I try to make allowance for ESL”.

I realize that perhaps he wasn’t trying to attack me (Or maybe he was, in which case, I hope he falls on his own pen and dies), but to ask me that… it left me shocked, and utterly broken in terms of confidence. My mind reeled. For about ten minutes I considered stopping writing altogether.

But then my cousin, my wonderful cousin, piped up. ” I am thinking that with all the arts that the world and competition can be cruel. Keep you’d head up, do what you love, produce what you are proud of and ignore the cruelty. Don’t give up because someone is mean. Ignore them and move on! Hugs to you!”

That was my saving grace. So I’m going to keep writing (honestly, I think it would be harder than that to stop me for more than a few days, but now I can continue on as usual faster). So I’m very thankful. But it made me think,Wow, this is not the only asshole there is going to be.

So it’s time for me, for anyone who wants to write, to prepare for the assholes of the world, as well as the understandable amount of rejections we will face from publishers and the like.

Put on your armor, don your war paint. It’s time for battle.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

